• Main Hall

Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra

Music / Classical Music

"Still utterly intoxicated by the edifying delights presented to my eyes and ears in beholding and conversing with the sages of our music city in the course of the past several days, I force this sharp and hard steel pen of Sahr’s to describe to you how it came and was happily brought to completion, that my concerto here has been a brilliant and decisive – flop," Brahms wrote after the Leipzig premiere of his first piano concert. After the premiere of his "Sixth", Tchaikovsky regretted that he "could neither convince the orchestra nor the audience that this is the best of my works." But despite massive criticism, the symphonic concert and the symphony of life and suffering, which has become famous as the "Pathétique", achieved acceptance and today are among the standard works of his repertoire. Austria’s elite orchestra meets the exceptional pianist Hélène Grimaud, who after her concert in the context of the Keyboard Music Festival will again give a guest performance at the Festspielhaus St. Pölten. At the conductor’s podium we will see the French-Canadian shooting star Yannick Nézet-Séguin, a youthful, passionate maestro, who caused a sensation at his debut at the Salzburg festival some years ago. He will light the fire, burning in both works: the fire of the young, still impetuous Brahms and Tchaikovsky’s glowing brilliance and melodic force. Music that will leave nobody indifferent, diving into the darkest depths of human abysses and drawing from the unconscious.

Introductory talk with Gottfried Franz Kasparek, 18:30 h, Box

Programme Johannes Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15. Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 in B minor, Op. 74 "Pathétique"

Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra. Soloist Hélène Grimaud piano. Conductor Yannick Nézet-Séguin

EUR 109 / 95 / 76 / 49 / 25

Season Ticket Classical Music

Ticket-Line: 02742 908080600 / Discounts


Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra
Yannick Nézet-Séguin
Hélène Grimaud

Portlet Media