Nicholas Angelich . Jun Märkl

Festspielhaus Großer Saal



EUR 45, 39, 34, 28, 12

Program text

» Emmanuel Chabrier: „Bourrée fantasque“ for Orchestra (Completion of Chabriers orchestration: Robin Holloway) «
» Camille Saint-Saëns: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 5 in F major op. 103 „The Egyptian“ «
» Igor Strawinski: Suite from the Ballet "Petrushka" (1947) «

Classical Music A Saint Petersburg fair provides the setting for the violent yet beautiful story of the ugly puppet ‘Petrushka’. With this bizarre dance epic, set in the world of circus artistes, Igor Stravinsky and Alexander Benois created the foundations for a new ballet aesthetic. The first work that Stravinsky composed away from his Russian homeland, it was premiered in 1911 in Paris. Emmanuel Chabrier’s dashing and charming ‘Bourrée fantasque’ and the exotic sound-world of Camille Saint-Saëns’ Fifth Piano Concerto, his ‘Egyptian’, were also instant hits with the French public.


  • Nicholas Angelich , piano
  • Jun Märkl , conductor
  • Tonkünstler-Orchester , orchestra

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List