John Storgårds

Festspielhaus Großer Saal

Schostakowitsch 15

Details and Tickets


EUR 45, 39, 34, 28, 12

Program text

» Joseph Haydn: Symphony in G major Hob. I:27 „Hermannstädter“ «
» Kurt Weill: Concerto for Violin and Wind Orchestra op. 12 «
» Dmitri Schostakowitsch: Symphony No.15 in A major op. 141 «

Classical Music  John Storgards is one of Finland’s outstanding musicians enjoying success as both conductor and virtuoso performer. In the first half of the concert, devoted to chamber music, Storgards’ double role sees him shaping the ‘Hermannstädter’ Symphony by Joseph Haydn, a transcription of which was discovered in 1946 in Transylvania. The conductor also takes on the demanding solo part in Kurt Weill’s Concerto for Violin and Wind Orchestra, which has long been regarded as a modernist classic. The final symphonic word goes to Dmitri Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 15, a work rich in musical quotations yet nevertheless a masterpiece on its own terms.


  • John Storgards , conductor and violin
  • Tonkünstler-Orchester , orchestra

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List