Archive: Michael Schønwandt

Festspielhaus Großer Saal



EUR 45, 39, 34, 28, 12

Program text

» Béla Bartók: „The Miraculous Mandarin“ Concert Suite op. 19 «
» György Kurtág: „... concertante …“ for Violin, Viola and Orchestra op. 42 «
» Antonín Dvořák: „Nature - Life - Love“ «

Classical Music  This exclusive Tonkunstler subscription season ends in the same spirit of affinity for nature as it began. Michael Schonwandt, a longterm guest conductor of the orchestra, conducted the world premiere of György Kurtág’s ‘… concertante …’ in Copenhagen in 2003. The single-movement work is rich in changes of mood, tempo and structure and was awarded the Grawemeyer Prize of the University of Louisville, amounting to a hefty 200,000 US dollars. This performance with Hiromi Kikuchi and Ken Hakii is framed by musical declarations of love to nature by Béla Bartók and Antonín Dvořák.


  • Hiromi Kikuchi , violin
  • Ken Hakii , viola
  • Michael Schønwandt , conductor
  • Tonkünstler-Orchester , orchestra

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List