Archive: Beethoven/Deutsch/Franck

Festspielhaus Großer Saal

Johannes Moser . Yutaka Sado


EUR 45, 39, 34, 28, 12

Program text

* Ludwig van Beethoven Overture to the tragedy «Coriolan» op. 62
* Bernd Richard Deutsch Concerto for Cello and Orchestra
* César Franck Symphony in d minor

Classical Music The Austrian composer Bernd Richard Deutsch brings his new Cello Concerto, commissioned by the Tonkunstler, to the stage, bookended by Ludwig van Beethoven’s restlessly driven and tense ‘Coriolanus’ Overture and the famous Symphony in D minor by César Franck. When the latter was premiered in 1889 in the Conservatoire de Paris, Franck’s idiosyncratic style asked too much of the audience. Now the piece is an acknowledged masterpiece and proves that today’s scandal can become tomorrow’s classic.

Bernd Richard Deutsch: Concerto for Cello and Orchestra – Commissioned work for Hessischer Rundfunk and the Tonkunstler Orchestra | premiere March 6th 2020


  • Tonkunstler Orchestra
  • Johannes Moser, cello
  • Yutaka Sado, conductor

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List