Archive: CANCELED |Scheherazade

Festspielhaus Großer Saal

Jean-Guihen Queyras . Long Yu


EUR 45, 39, 34, 28, 12


* Camille Saint-Saëns Concerto for Cello and Orchestra No. 2 in d minor op. 119
* Nikolai Rimski-Korsakow Scheherazade Symphonic Suite for Orchestra op. 35  


Classical Music A global programme of the finest kind! For their debut with the Tonkunstler Orchestra, the Chinese conductor Long Yu and the French cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras have chosen a work that requires a dauntless soloist: the Second Cello Concerto by Camille Saint-Saëns, written in 1902 with a classical structure. The musicians – and especially their concertmaster Kirill Maximov in soloist mode – then invite you to immerse yourself in a fairy tale with Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s symphonic poem Scheherazade. There can be few other orchestral pieces that capture the imagination as directly as this. The four movements have names like The Sea and Sinbad’s Ship and Festival at Baghdad. The musical borrowings come from Persia, India and the Caucasus.


Because of the current regulations on Covid-19 prevention, our concert programmes have had to be modified. The original plan was to perform as our opening piece Qigang Chen’s overture Instant d'un Opéra de Pékin, but this is unfortunately no longer possible.


Jean-Guihen Queyras violoncello, Long Yu conductor, Tonkunstler Orchestra

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List