Archive: Tschaikowski/Schostakowitsch

Festspielhaus Großer Saal

Stephen Hough . Yutaka Sado


EUR 47, 41, 36, 29, 12


* Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1 b minor op. 23
* Dmitri Schostakowitsch Symphony No. 5 d minor op. 47


Classical Music When he played his First Piano Concerto to his friend Nikolai Rubinstein, his intended soloist for the premiere, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky was expecting a triumph – but what he got was a devastating rebuff. Dmitri Shostakovich’s Fifth seems to end in bombastic triumph with kettledrums and trumpets, but the celebration is a facade. The composer felt forced to erect it by Communist apparatchiks, keeping his true feelings well hidden behind. Both works have long been central to the most popular Russian repertoire. A job for maestros, with Yutaka Sado at the podium and the British virtuoso Stephen Hough on piano.


Stephen Hough Piano, Yutaka Sado conductor, Tonkunstler Orchestra

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List