Archive: Tschaikowski/Sibelius

Festspielhaus Großer Saal

Alena Baeva . Michał Nesterowicz


EUR 45, 39, 34, 28, 12

Program text

* Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major op. 35
* Jean Sibelius Symphony No. 1 in e minor op. 39

Classical Music A stay in the wine-growing village of Clarens on the shores of Lake Geneva did Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky the power of good. Here the composer convalesced from a nervous breakdown. He poured his regained courage into a violin concerto, here brought to life in all its blossoming, heady and intoxicating character by Tchaikovsky’s compatriot, violinist Alena Baeva. In his first Symphony, the Finnish composer Jean Sibelius illustrated the rather austere character of the natural world in his homeland: a varied panopticon of youth and ripeness, light and shadow interpreted here by the Polish conductor Michał Nesterowicz.


  • Tonkunstler Orchestra
  • Alena Baeva, violin
  • Michał Nesterowicz, conductor

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List