Archive: Brahms/Grieg

Festspielhaus Großer Saal

Alice Sara Ott . François Leleux


EUR 45, 39, 34, 28, 12


* Edvard Grieg Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in a minor op. 16
Johannes Brahms Serenade No. 2 in A major op. 16


Classical Music The conductor François Leleux and the pianist Alice Sara Ott: two audience favourites return to the Tonkunstler with an enchanting concert programme! The orchestral musicians showcase their creative acumen and melodic sensibility in a seldom performed masterpiece by Johannes Brahms. After his second Serenade in A major – arranged for a small orchestra with no violins – was received with enthusiasm by the Viennese public in 1862, the composer decided to move to the metropolis on the Danube. Another young star was the Norwegian Edvard Grieg, who was not yet thirty when he completed his Piano Concerto in A minor. After the premiere in 1869 in Copenhagen, pianists were scrambling for the chance to perform it – among them Franz Liszt, who is said to have sight-read it in a performance in Rome in 1870.


Because of the current regulations on Covid-19 prevention, our concert programmes have had to be modified. Camille Saint-Saëns’ Second Piano Concerto was originally programmed, but this has been replaced by Edvard Grieg’s Concerto in A minor, and Johannes Brahms’ First Serenade has been replaced by his Second.


Alice Sara Ott piano, François Leleux conductor, Tonkunstler Orchestra

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List