Archive: Schumann/Dietrich

Festspielhaus Großer Saal

Isabelle Faust . Eugene Tzigane


EUR 47, 41, 36, 29, 12


* Joseph Joachim Hamlet Overture op. 4
* Robert Schumann Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in d minor WoO 1
* Albert Dietrich
Symphonie No. 2 d minor op. 20


Classical Music The story of Robert Schumann’s Violin Concerto could be the plot of a pulp novel. It remained unpublished until 1933, when two women claimed that their late uncle, the violinist Joseph Joachim, and the composer himself had asked them from the next world to publish the concerto. Previously kept under lock and key, the score finally came to light. Isabelle Faust, one of the most sensitive and revered violin soloists today, has been championing this work tirelessly for many years. Its main theme, a commentator once wrote, “sounds like the opening of an unwritten symphony by Anton Bruckner”, drawing a parallel to that composer’s glorious Seventh, which Yutaka Sado places on a scale between grief and triumph.

Because of the continuing restrictive quarantine rules in Japan, Music Director Yutaka Sado is unfortunately unable to conduct this concert. We are grateful to Eugene Tzigane for agreeing to step in for him. Instead of the originally planned Seventh Symphony by Anton Bruckner, the first piece will be the «Hamlet» Overture by Joseph Joachim. This will be followed after the interval by Albert Dietrich's Second Symphony.


Isabelle Faust violin, Eugene Tzigane conductor, Tonkunstler Orchestra

My Visit

0 Entries Entry

Suggested visit time:

Send List